Recent Press

Press Releases, News & Updates from Explore and all of our education efforts.

Explore the New Manufacturing Announces Winners for the Explore Student Video Contest North Central Region

North Central Winners Graphic for Social 1

Explore the New Manufacturing is pleased to announce the winners of the Explore Student Video Contest North Central region. Middle school teams were judged on the creation of a 3-minute video about their manufacturing partner, the employees, and cool aspects of the company.

  • The Best Manufacturing Message Award was presented to Taylor County Middle School for their video about Dyna-Mix.  Taylor County's winning video about "what is a polymer?" created a story that effectively showcased the company's products and employees. Team members include Callie Copeland, Peyton Freeman, Lauren Worth, Braden Hoch, Madelyn Lynch, Cameron Poling, Parker Riffle, Bailey Weaver, Maggie Gump, and Braxton Poling.
  • The Outstanding Creativity Award was presented to Jackson Middle School for their video about Simonton Windows.  With its rain-drenched reporter battling a hurricane, the winning video has a creative and humorous storyline that makes the viewer remember the Simonton Windows.  Team members include Evan McCleary, Jenna Beane, Cadrian Miller, Adalee Jones, Chloe Thomas, Taylor Haught, Reagan Rauh, Ella Collins, Audry Singer, Baylee White, Julia Fairchild, and Chloe Mulligan.
  • The Viewer's Choice Award was presented to Lincoln Middle School for their video about FCX Systems, Inc. Setting a new contest record, the Lincoln team got their fan base to show their support with their vote. The voting was open to students, parents, educators, and community members.  Team members include Destiny Coffman, Ari Fox, Gracie Hardesty, Kyler Hayhurst, Kennedy Linville, Della McQuaid, Mason Miller, Gabrielle Milnes, Seth Nay, Keston Rose, Emmy Salerno, Alexander Spurling, Brystol Toth, Colton Wright, and Cody Zheng.

 All contest videos can be viewed by visiting:

Participating middle schools included Jackson Middle School, Lincoln Middle School, South Middle School (Morgantown, WV), and Taylor County Middle School.

Participating manufacturers included Dyna-Mix, FCX Systems, Inc, Pioneer Conveyor, LLC, and Simonton Windows.

The Explore Student Video Contest is a favorite of students, teachers, and manufacturers,” said Program Director Monica Cross.  “This year’s competitors stepped up to produce some great videos.  The regional contests are a vital component of our initiative of creating awareness about the types of job opportunities modern day manufacturing offers.” Cross oversees the Explore the New Manufacturing Program on behalf of the West Virginia Manufacturers Association Educational Fund’s efforts to create student awareness and excitement about careers in manufacturing and the training opportunities for these positions in their local areas. 

The Explore Student Video Contest provides a first-hand glimpse into modern manufacturing for seventh and eighth-grade students.  Each participating school is provided with a video camera and kit by Explore the New Manufacturing.  The program is funded by the Claude Worthington Benedum Foundation, as well as company and individual contributions. 

Program Sponsors

Major financial underwriting is provided by

Upcoming Dates

28 May
STATE AWARDS Virtual Ceremony
Date 05.28.2024
5 Jun
Educator Roundtable
23 Jul
WVMA-EF Board Dinner
07.23.2024 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
24 Jul
WVMA-EF Board Retreat
07.24.2024 7:30 am - 8:30 am

Updates from Explore

Contact us and get involved!

Interested in getting involved with the Explore the New Manufacturing Program?

We are looking for manufacturers, schools, teachers, and community members to
help us expand our efforts throughout West Virginia.

Help us by answering a few questions.